Love

Wasn’t what I thought…

It was love that we had,

That once in a lifetime kinda love.

The love that makes you happy when you are sad,

The love that I thought would never end, that was endless.

And when you left, I was broken,

I cried like you died, I fasted and prayed but you never came.

I begged and pleaded and the thing is I thought you were the one for me,

I thought it was love but I was wrong.

You manipulated me, you hated me but now I know that you actually put me on track.

You put me on track to actually find my love,

And this love is sweet.

Sweet like sugarcane I ate as a child,

Fulfilling like eating food after a long day on the field.

This love quenched my soul like water on a hot summers day, after a long drive.

The love I have now is beyond this universe, better than I ever thought I deserved.

I wanted you and I guess I did in some way because without you there wouldn’t be him,

I wouldn’t have found my dream, my soul, my love.

Without you, I wouldn’t learn to appreciate what I got,

I probably would have mistreated and taken advantage of him.

And for a time I did and I can admit that I was wrong,

But you, you taught me that never let a good thing go and I won’t.

I will hold him when he is cold, alone and broke,

Because he helped me when I was freezing outside and almost died.

He listened to me when I was on my last breath,

And before I lost it all he gave me the air I needed to survive.

He helped me and changed my life,

And to you manipulator, heart breaker, woman- eater I can say thank you for not being what I thought.

-Mrs R

A big thank you for anyone who takes the time to read my poetry I appreciate it.

Leave a comment